雅愛爾・羅茲馬瑞

時裝設計工作室

雅愛爾・羅茲馬瑞在凱法爾阿杜明(Kfar Adumim)的家中開設了她的設計工作室。15歲起,她就開始製作服裝,然後在森科(Shenkar)設計學院學習工業設計。
具視野的流行設計—雅愛爾・羅茲馬瑞(YAEL ROZMARIN)的故事
作者:Aryeh Tavor | 2018-01-15 10:54:24
近期,我們驅車前往位於凱法爾阿杜明(Kfar Adumim)的美麗社區—諾非培瑞特(Nofei Prat),我們將在這裡採訪世界之心每月驚喜包的供應商之一:雅愛爾・羅茲馬瑞。一踏進雅愛爾的工作室,只見一位甜美溫暖的女性正等著我們。初次見面,從雅愛爾平靜的舉止,你不會意識到她已有三個孩子,還有自己的工作室。

訪談中,我們得知,凱法爾阿杜明為其居民提供了寧靜的生活方式,這是雅愛爾和丈夫選擇住在那裡的主要原因。雅愛爾告訴我們,移居凱法爾阿杜明之前,她和丈夫住在耶路撒冷,事實上,雅愛爾是第9代耶路撒冷人!她和丈夫波阿斯是青梅竹馬,從小就認識,兩人很年輕的時候開始約會。幸運的是,這段美好關係持續,後來他們結婚,並建立自己的家庭。
雅愛爾和波阿斯的第一個孩子伊塔瑪出生後,他們開始尋找合適的社區,來安頓自己的家庭。他們想要一個寧靜而典雅的地方,後來在一個房產網站上看到凱法爾阿杜明社區。得知凱法爾阿杜明中心區域的諾非培瑞特路上有一個漂亮的衛星社區,雅愛爾決定認真考慮這個建議。

在參觀了諾非培瑞特鄰近區域,和位於耶路撒冷以北的凱法爾阿杜明社區後,夫妻倆認為這個社區很適合他們的小家庭,"這間公寓有很棒的風景,我們決定教受它," 雅愛爾說。

雅愛爾回憶,"在這裡住了兩週之後,我那個牙牙學語的兒子開始說出像鳥、狗和天空這樣的字詞。當我們還在耶路撒冷,他最先學會的字詞是汽車、公車和火車。這實在令人驚訝,環境是如此影響語言... 孩子應該在凱法爾阿杜明這樣的地方成長。"

雅愛爾接著說到她對這個社區的熱愛,"現在,我住在一個好棒的地方,一個好棒的社區。除了景色和其他一切,這裡的人讓此處如此特別。大家彼此接納,這實在讓人驚訝。我們一起生活在這個混合的社區,融合了宗教和世俗人士。"
除了是撫養孩子的好地方,這裡寧靜的環境和絕佳的景色也成為雅愛爾的工作靈感源泉。在這個離家不遠的工作室,她已工作了三年半,"環境激發我靈感環境是我設計的一部分。我的設計很經典,非常簡潔,沒有墜飾或繁複細節," 雅愛爾談到工作室和周圍的景色,"早上在這樣的景緻中醒來,內心平靜,可以更安靜地構思、設計和描繪設計草圖,"雅愛爾總結道。

順道一提,雅愛爾還說她可以看到山羊在屋外踱步,我們會心一笑,因為雅愛爾的名字實際上就是山羊之意。 我問雅愛爾,她什麼時候意識到自己渴望成為一名時裝設計師,她告訴我們她第一次大賣的故事… 那時,雅愛爾大約15歲,很想去跳傘,但是,16歲才能合法跳傘。這個跳傘的強烈願望讓她有動力開始工作,以賺取收入,還能做自己喜歡的事。於是,雅愛爾開始了她的第一份工作。
"所以我從木條上取一些木頭,切成小塊,做成一個戒指,還在木塊上畫設計稿,然後用洗澡海綿在木頭上弄了一些小切口。這個戒子在跳蚤市場賣得20謝克爾[每個]。後來戒指熱銷,"雅愛爾說,"我還在學校賣。當時我在一所藝術學校就讀。然後戒指引起商店老闆的注意,他一口氣買了50個。這太瘋狂了。"

"經過幾個月累積,我帶著一堆20舍克勒的鈔票去跳傘,"雅愛爾說。有一次,她還用厚厚一疊20舍克勒支付廠商1,000舍克勒的貨款,這讓我們大笑不已,"這就是我的第一份工作。"

我問雅愛爾,她的成功是否跟自己對職業的熱愛有關。她說,"我相信,當你喜歡某樣東西,你就會成為箇中翹楚。"
"我一直知道自己會用雙手做點什麼,我總是喜歡用雙手工作,畫畫..."
雅愛爾接著告訴我們她的正式設計背景,"我在森科設計學院學習工業設計。在森科的第二年,我開始為自己縫製東西,朋友們也要我為他們製作各種各樣的東西。第三年,我決定不再這樣做。起初我會晚上縫製,白天上學。後來因為懷孕,無法同時負荷學業和開辦公司,我就找了一個專司剪裁的地方。對我來說,這是件大事。我認為這是公司業務真正起飛的時候,當有人協助縫紉,我就能更專注在設計上。"

我問雅愛爾,父母是否與她的職業選擇有關。她說,"是的,我父親的愛好是木工,但這只是一個愛好。成長期間我們家裡有一個小木工車間。媽媽則經營一個托兒所。所以,我們會一起為媽媽的托兒所製作一些東西。當我想要一張桌子,我找父親,他會說,好,畫出妳想要的東西,我幫妳做。童年就是這樣,我們先畫設計圖,然後度量不同尺寸。起初我會勾勒出家具的輪廓,後來也打磨木頭。今天,我的兒子幫我度量尺寸,還會跟我一起打磨木頭。"

語畢,雅愛爾指指父親親手做的工作桌,多年後的今天,這張桌子在雅愛爾的工作室裡陪伴她。
首先,我很享受跟世界之心一起工作,這對我和我的工作室來說,是一個很大的支持,幫助我的工作室曝光。
關於這個月包裹裡的披肩,雅愛爾告訴我們一個很美的故事,"製作這條披肩時,我正懷著第三個孩子,她的名字是奧芮,這條披肩的名字也是奧芮。孕期間,妳不知道自己會變成什麼樣子,或是妳會穿什麼,我只是想讓自己在孕期的最後幾天有合適的東西穿。我總說,最好買一些像是珠寶、圍巾或上衣的東西,這就是我對這條披肩的想法。我採用不同面料,好讓它在夏天和春天都能使用,我稱它為奧芮。我喜歡以可能用於新生兒的名字,為懷孕期間製作的洋裝和襯衫命名,這就像一個試驗,所以我把這個披肩命名為奧芮。這條披肩是我最喜歡的,希望你也喜歡它。"

採訪結束時,雅愛爾希望我們向世界之心以及所有的訂戶致謝,謝謝大家的支持,"首先,我很享受跟世界之心一起工作,這對我和我的工作室來說,是一個很大的支持,幫助我的工作室曝光。看見來自世界各地的人們相信我們,並且樂意支持我們,我很驚喜。能獲得這樣的支持,實在很棒,真高興認識你們。"
Made on
Tilda

Meet the Pioneers
YAEL ROZMARIN
Fashion and Design Studio
Yael Rozmarin opened her design studio at home in Kfar Admumim. She has been making clothing since she was 15 and then studied industrial design at the Shenkar School of Design.
EXCLUSIVE: Fashion With A View, The Story of Yael Rozmarin
by Aryeh Tavor | 2018-01-15 10:54:24
Surprise Monthly Package Project

We recently drove out to the beautiful neighborhood of Nofei Prat- located in the community of Kfar Adumim – to interview Yael Rozmarin, one of the producers for Lev Haolam's Surprise Monthly Package Project. Upon entering Yael's studio it became apparent that we were meeting with a sweet, warm woman. Given her calm demeanor, you wouldn't realize that Yael had three children and ran her own studio on meeting her for the first time.

We learned over the course of the interview, the quiet and serene lifestyle that Kfar Adumim provides its residents was one of the most influential reasons she and her husband chose to live there. Yael told us that before she lived in Kfar Adumim, she and her husband lived in Jerusalem – Yael is actually a 9th generation Jerusalemite! Yael and her husband, Boaz, were childhood sweethearts. Apparently, they knew one another since early childhood and began to date each other at a very young age. Luckily, it lasted and they got married and started their own family.

After Yael and Boaz had Itamar, their first child, they looked for the ideal community to settle their family. They were looking for something quiet and quaint. After coming across the community of Kfar Adumim on a real estate website, Yael read that there was a beautiful subcommunity just up the road from the main part of Kfar Adumim called Nofei Prat. She decided to look into this suggestion.

After visiting the neighborhood of Nofei Prat and the community of Kfar Adumim, which is located just north of Jerusalem, they decided that the community was just right for their small family. "We saw this apartment with an amazing view, and we decided to take it," Yael said.

Yael recalls, "after being here for 2 weeks, my son [who just started talking], began to say words like bird, dog and sky. When we in Jerusalem, his first words [there] were car, bus and train. It's amazing how the environment inspires speech in such a way… this is a place that kids should grow up in."

Yael continued to tell us how much she loves her community. "I live in an amazing place with an amazing community. Besides the views and everything else, the people here really makes the place. Everyone accepts one another which is so amazing. We live in a mixed community, with a mixture of religious and secular people."

In addition to the community being a great place to raise her children, the quiet surroundings and great views serve as constant inspiration for Yael's work. She has now been at her studio, which is located near her home, for three-and-a-half years. "The environment brings me inspiration. [The environment] is part of my design. My design is classic, very clean and without a lot of decorations and pieces to it," Yael says about her studio and the surrounding views. "When you wake up and this is what you see, then you can be more calm and at peace with your thoughts, your designs and sketches," Yael concludes.

In an aside, Yael tells us she can see mountain goats wandering outside. We knowingly smile, as Yael's name actually means mountain goat.

I asked Yael about when she first knew that she wanted to be a fashion designer. She started by telling us the story of her first big sale. Yael was about 15 years old at the time and she really wanted to go skydiving. She would only be able to legally go skydiving at sixteen. Her strong desire to go skydiving gave her the motivation start working and earn money while doing something she enjoyed. She set out on her first job.

"I always knew I would do something with my hands. I always liked working with my hands, drawing building…" Yael said.

"[So] I took some wood from [wooden] sheets and I cut it into pieces and then I took it and made it into a ring and drew [designs] on the wood. I then made small cuts on the wood using a bath sponge. I went to the flea market and sold it there for 20 shekel [each]. They sold like crazy," Yael said. "Then I sold it at my school, I studied at an art school. Then the rings caught the attention of a store owner and he bought something like 50 rings. It was crazy."

"And after a few months [of saving up] I went skydiving with a bunch of 20 shekel bills," Yael said while we laughed at the funny scene of her handing the vendor a thousand shekels worth of money in 20 shekel bills. "And that was my first job ever," Yael concluded.

I asked Yael if her success was connected to her love for her profession. She said, "I think that if you love something, then you'll be good at it." (13:45)

Yael then continued to give us her more formal design background. "I studied industrial design at the Shenkar school of design. In my second year there, I started sewing things for myself. And then friends started asking me to make them various things for them too. And then after a few months in my third year, I decided I couldn't do it myself anymore. [At first] I used to sew at night and then I would go into school in the morning. And then I decided that I was pregnant and at the time was too much – to be in school and to open a business. I then sent it to a place that made the cuts for me. And this was like a big deal for me. And I think that's when the business really took off. Once I could let someone else do the sewing, I had the opportunity to focus more on the design."

I asked Yael if her parents had anything to do with her career choice. She said, "yes, my Father's hobby is woodworking. Just a hobby. [Growing up] we had a small woodworking workshop in our home. My Mom ran a nursery. So, we used to make things [together] for my Mom's nursery. When I wanted a desk and I would ask my Father for it, he would say, OK, draw for me what you want and I will build it for you. And that's what we did. We drew it, we measured the different sizes. At first I would sketch the outline for the furniture, but later we would also sand the wood. And today, my sons help me to take measurements and to sand the wood with me."

Yael then pointed to a work desk that her Father had built and that she used in her studio today, many years later.

I asked Yael about to tell us about the shawl in this month's package. Her response was beautiful. "I was pregnant with my third baby when I made this shawl, her name is Ori and this shawl's name is Ori also. When you're pregnant you're not sure how you'll look and what you'll wear after, and so I wanted to make sure that I would have what to wear after and for the last days [of pregnancy]. I always say that it's better to buy things, like jewelry or scarves or tops and that's how I thought of this shawl. And I made it out of a variety of fabrics. It can be used in the Summer and during the Spring. I made it and I called it Ori. The names of the dresses and shirts [that I made during my pregnancy] were all names that could be the name of my baby. It was like a test. And so I named this shawl Ori since I liked this one the most and I hope you will enjoy it."

In concluding our interview, Yael wanted us to thank Lev Haolam and all of our subscribers for their support. "First of all, I love working with Lev Haolam. It is a big support for me and my studio. It's great exposure for my studio and I find it amazing that people from all over the world believe in us and want to support us. It's really great to have such support and I'm so glad that I met you," Yael said emphatically.
Made on
Tilda